Skip to content

Mystery Diagnosis.. does anyone really know?

June 22, 2009

2004_1_20_distant_diagnosisBi-Polar disorder, borderline personality, post traumatic stress disorder, manic depressive, chronic depression, postpartum depression, schizophrenic, just plain crazy. You name it and at some point a doctor has said that’s what I have.  I can’t blame the doctors though, they went off what I told them. And depending on my mood I had a habit of telling them all sorts of crazy things!  But of a few things I am certain… (wow, that sounded a bit like Twilight…) I am NOT schizophrenic, and I am pretty sure I am not bi-polar.  Borderline fits some, but not completely.  I just might be plain crazy, but really, all I really really know is that something is wrong.

In the last few years most of my family has been diagnosed with a thyroid disorder called Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis, and most of them, now on the right medication are doing great.  The big deal with this disease is how for YEARS my mom had similar problems with fatiuge, pain, depression, etc. ALL explained by this disorder.   A normal thyroid test does not show this disorder, you need a special thyroid antibiody test.

Hashimoto’s thyroiditis is often misdiagnosed as depression, cyclothymia, PMS, and, less frequently as bipolar disorder or as anxiety disorder. Testing for TSH and anti-thyroid antibodies can resolve any diagnostic difficulty.

Seems like a simple resolution right? Get the test… Yeah, that’s what I thought! I finally saved up enough extra money to go to a doctor with no insurance, the cheapest in town was only 80 a visit.  I went, he was a complete quack. He asked me to pray and put me on prozac.  I talked to him about the Hashimoto’s thyroiditis and he had never heard of it so wouldn’t order a special test that he wouldn’t know what to do with.  So he informed me he would order a regular thyroid panel and if there was ANYTHING wrong it would for sure show up on there.   At this point I was not 100% convinced he was a quack so I took his word and went and got the test he ordred, there went $120 on a useless test, and another $30 on a useless drug. Prozac didn’t do anything.  Same with ALL other drugs I have tried.

So now I am back at square one, looking for an affordable doctor and saving money, which is sooo hard with my husband hours being cut back.  But I am heading to shands on tuesday morning to apply for the patient financial assistance program, and if I qualify it will help me get to a doctor.  I am sooo hopefull that they will help, I don’t know what I will do if they say no.  I am so tired of dealing with this constant pain and being tired.

Best case scenario would be that I get this shands card and get a doctor that has heard of this disorder and tests me… the test comes back positive and I start thyroid medication.  Crazy huh? I am begging for a thyroid condition. But really, if it is this than the right medication will fix most everything.  If not, then it really is some sort of mental problem, I can deal with that but please let’s figure out what it is and fix it, I don’t care if I need meds, doctors, blood tests, etc. I just want to feel good.

My plan for tomorrow when I get some time is to sit down and start listing my symptoms so when I do see a doctor I can give him the list and hopefully he will look at it and have a epiphany, and say, OMG, you have xxxxx, something, anything treatable!

At this point I feel hopefull, shands will approve me, I will get a doctor, and I will finally be on my way to feeling better. That’s all I can let myself think right now, otherwise I will crash.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

